Is Oatmeal Gluten Free? | Bob's Red Mill
Is Oatmeal Gluten Free?

Is Oatmeal Gluten Free?

If you or a friend are maintaining a gluten free diet, then you’ve probably wondered about oatmeal, and breakfast in general. Many breakfast foods are landmines in the gluten free community: namely, wheat-based biscuits, cereals, pancakes, pastries, donuts, oh my! Some of these we will give a resounding “NO” to, but in actuality, there are many grains that are safe to eat on a gluten free diet. For the most part, oatmeal is one of them. Notice that we said, “for the most part.” As with all foods, there are some concerns to take into consideration, and we have gathered all the information you need to know about whether oatmeal is safe for your gluten free diet or not!

What Is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in several grain sources, namely wheat, rye, barley and triticale. If you haven’t heard of this last one, it is because triticale is a hybrid of rye and barley, so it is less familiar to most of us. Gluten helps baked goods rise. However, gluten is not found in other grain sources, like rice, buckwheat, corn or pure oats, so these grains will typically be safe for those with gluten intolerance. Fruits, veggies, meat and other foods are naturally gluten free, so they will also be safe for anyone with a gluten sensitivity unless they become cross contaminated.

Are Oats Gluten Free?

As we mentioned, oats themselves are naturally gluten free. However, as with all foods, there are also some concerns with oatmeal that gluten intolerant people will want to be aware of to avoid any issues or painful flareups. Although many oats are safe for gluten intolerant individuals, cross-contamination can occur in facilities or even in fields where wheat, rye or barley are also present. But if not all oats are safe for gluten free diets, the follow up question is whether oatmeal is gluten free!

Contamination

The main issue for oatmeal when it comes to gluten is contamination. While oats themselves do not contain any gluten proteins, it is very easy for them to become contaminated by grains that do. Large, big-box commercial rolled oats are often produced, processed or packaged in facilities that also handle other grains like wheat, barley or rye--all of which contain gluten. Many of these facilities deal with grains that are milled into small particles--like flour--so it’s quite easy for the oat products to be contaminated by other (gluten containing) grains.

Even if the oats are never in the same facility as grains that contain gluten, they could still be contaminated. A good portion of the oats in the United States are grown in fields near other grains, so there is the potential for contamination during the growing process, and this contamination is never fully eradicated during the processing stages. Wind and weather patterns, as well as other environmental factors, can actually change the amount of contamination in a product from season to season, even with the same exact farms. Thus, you may end up with an oatmeal containing 100% oats that still causes some issues for a person with celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity.

The standard set forth by the FDA for a “Gluten Free” stamp on your food products is 19 parts per million of grains that contain gluten. 

UPDATE: DECEMBER 26, 2018

As always, Bob’s Red Mill is dedicated to bringing you safe gluten free foods. Beginning in 2019, we now offer some products that are certified gluten free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, a branch of the Gluten Intolerance Group. You can identify these select products by the GFCO logo on the product packages. Other Bob’s Red Mill gluten free products will continue to be tested and confirmed gluten free per our strict gluten free protocols. You can identify these products by the red GF logo and the gluten free testing statement on the product packages.

Other Issues with Oatmeal and Gluten

Contamination isn’t your only worry when it comes to ensuring that your oatmeal is gluten free. Oatmeal commonly comes in other flavors or varieties with added fruits, veggies or spices. These are delicious, but face the same risks that the oats do when it comes to gluten contamination. You’ll want to make sure that none of the added ingredients contain gluten grains, but there’s an additional step to take. Even fruits like apples and bananas, which do not naturally contain gluten, can still be in danger of that trace contamination from the fields or from the factories, so look for a “gluten free” stamp on all of your oatmeal to ensure you won’t have any accidental issues.

Differences in Sensitivity Level

There are of course different sensitivity levels when it comes to gluten, which will change things as well. If you or your loved one has been diagnosed with celiac disease, this is typically the most extreme form of gluten intolerance with the most sensitivity to gluten contamination. If this is the case, then we would recommend avoiding all large commercial oatmeals, or oatmeals with additives, just to be on the safe side. Oat products that are labeled “gluten free” will be your best friend in the morning, though! If you have non-celiac gluten sensitivity, then you should just be aware of your own body and your own needs. You will always be safest if you look for the gluten free label, but there typically aren’t large amounts of gluten contamination in oatmeal, even if there is a little bit.

Be careful, though, as those weather patterns can make contamination vary from season to season; you may eat a certain oatmeal for years and then develop a negative reaction to a certain batch of it one day. If it is someone else who has a gluten sensitivity that you are cooking for, then we definitely recommend erring on the side of caution, as you never know their individual needs!

Cooking with Gluten Free Oatmeal

Cooking gluten free oatmeal is exactly the same as cooking with regular oatmeal, as there is no actual difference in the oats themselves. Try some of our favorite oatmeal recipes with any kind of oatmeal that you buy! Of course, if you are cooking for a gluten intolerant person, then it is important to ensure that your recipe does not include any additional ingredients that contain gluten! Watch out for wheat, barley, rye and triticale: you should be safe as long as the recipe does not call for those grains in any form.

In addition to eating it by the bowl, oatmeal is a great alternative ingredient in gluten free baking as well! We love using oatmeal in place of wheat flours in gluten-free recipes like this delicious Wheat Free Oatmeal Cake and these Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies, all gluten free! The oatmeal helps ingredients stick together, a similar purpose to flour in most recipes, and it also crumbles in a delicious, chewy texture which is perfect for muffins, pies, and cookies!

Oat Intolerance

There is actually a small subset of the population of gluten intolerant people who also have an oat intolerance. The scientific community has conflicting opinions on whether this is simply due to trace contamination, but there have been studies that link some people to a more specific oat sensitivity. No food is 100% safe for everyone, so if you have any discomfort while eating oats, especially if you are trying out the “gluten free” labeled varieties, then consult with your doctor immediately. It may be the case that oats are simply not the best option for your body! When cooking for others, even if you know they are gluten intolerant, make sure to also question whether they are oat sensitive or not. Labeling your food in large group settings is always a good idea--you never know what someone may be sensitive to!

The short answer to the question of oats being gluten free is a resounding yes, however there are always considerations to think about if you have any kind of sensitivity. Due to their close nature in the field and in the factory, oats may have some gluten contamination that makes them unsuitable for your consumption if you have a gluten intolerance. The exact levels of contamination can vary, as can your sensitivity to them, so be careful, and look for the gluten free label if you are at all concerned about your intestinal abilities to process gluten. Try some of the delicious oatmeal recipes we shared above, and let us know which ones are your favorites by commenting below!

Sources:

Is Oatmeal Gluten-Free?

Need to Know: Oats and the Gluten-Free Diet (Canada)


https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/gluten-in-oats


15 Comments

  1. John
    Can you please send me the information (name, product#, etc.) of Bob's Red Mill gluten-free (1) oatmeal and (2) oat bran products. Thank you.
    Reply
    1. Whitney Barnes
      Hi John - you can find the information here:

      Gluten Free Rolled Oats
      Gluten Free Oat Bran
      Reply
  2. Amy
    Are all of Bob’s Red Mill Oatmeal gluten free or just the ones marked so?
    Reply
    1. Whitney Barnes
      Hi Amy - All Oatmeal is naturally gluten free but if you need a bag that's been tested and confirmed gluten free then look for the ones that specifically say "Gluten Free" on the package. Those are handled in our dedicated Gluten Free Facility. If you have more questions about our processes, our Customer Service team is happy to help. They can be reached at 1-800-349-2173 or [email protected]
      Reply
  3. Joanna
    Gluten is the name given to the protein in wheat , rye, barley and oats that affect people with coeliac disease. It is a composite name and so gluten represents:

    Gliadin in Wheat
    Hordein in Barley
    Secalin in Rye
    Avenin in Oats
    The current tests for gluten can measure gliadin, hordein, and secalin but not avenin as it is a slightly different protein.
    * Oats and Coeliac Disease

    “One in five people with Coeliac Disease react to oats. Coeliac Australia recommends oats are not eaten by people with Coeliac Disease unless they have had a biopsy test conducted to ensure they do not react to oats.” Sourced from Coeliac Australia.
    Reply
  4. Bruce
    I have two large bags of steel cut oats....one is labeled Quick cooking and the other is not... is there a difference in taste or just cooking time?
    Also, neither are labeled gluten free...are they or not? your answers on the site are ambiguous as several of your oat products are labeled GF.

    thanks, bruce
    Reply
    1. Whitney Barnes
      Hi Bruce - All oats are inherently gluten free. If they are tested and confirmed gluten free in our dedicated Gluten Free Facility, they will also say "Gluten Free" on the package. If not, they're still gluten free but may have come into contact with gluten-containing ingredients during processing.

      The difference between Steel Cut Oats and Quick Cooking Steel Cut Oats is the size. The Quick Cooking version is ground into slightly smaller pieces which equals a shorter cooking time.
      Reply
  5. George Russell
    So Bob’s Oatmeal is not always gluten free very very confusing when packaging is so similar
    Reply
    1. Whitney Barnes
      Whitney Barnes
      Hi George, all oatmeal is inherently gluten free.

      Sometimes during the growing, transportation, processing and packaging it can come in contact with wheat products. For most people this is not an issue. However, if you have a wheat allergy or celiac disease then you likely will want to seek out oats that are specially handled to avoid potential cross contamination. Our oats that specifically say Gluten Free on the package have been tested and confirmed gluten free in our dedicated Gluten Free Facility.
      Reply
  6. Rachel
    Hi there,
    I found you have a Wheat Free old fashioned oats product sold in Australia, is this still considered gluten free? I’m just concerned as you have the Gluten Free labeled product on your website but I can’t find any info on this Wheat Free variety. Would you consider it safe for consumption for a Celiac? Thanks!
    Reply
    1. Whitney Barnes
      Hi Rachel - Yes, the "wheat free" label in Australia is synonymous with the "gluten free" label in the USA, it's just a difference in food labeling standards. Bob's Red Mill products imported to Australia with the "wheat free" label have been produced and packaged in our dedicated Gluten Free Facility. Each batch is individually tested and confirmed gluten free with an ELISA Gluten Assay Test. You can read more details about our gluten free process here:

      Bob's Red Mill - Gluten Free
      Reply
  7. Elizabeth a. Eades
    Elizabeth a. Eades
    Where can I find a complete lineup of Bob's Red Mill products? Most stores are not consistent with their inventory. I might see the flour one day, but not for another month.
    Thank you!
    Reply
    1. Whitney Barnes
      Hi Elizabeth - head to our Online Shop, or browse an online version of our Product Catalog.
      Reply
  8. Jim Rice
    With so much attention given to glyphosate (Round-up), can you tell me if your Gluten Free / Non-GMO products are free from this chemical? The main item I am inquiring about is Old Fashioned Rolled Oats Whole Grain; UPC: 0-39978-03375. Thank you so much!!
    Reply
    1. Whitney Barnes
      Whitney Barnes
      Hi Jim - glyphosate is not used on any of our oats during any point of the growing process. This extends to the Old Fashioned Rolled oats you have. If you have other questions, feel free to send us an email at [email protected] or call us at 1-800-349-2173.
      Reply

8 Item(s)

Add Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest Posts

Keep up to date on the latest from
Bob's Red Mill
Subscribe Now