Modified food starch is made by physically, enzymatically, or chemically altering starch to change its inherent properties. In this instance, modified does not necessarily mean genetically modified, however some modified starches are likely made from genetically modified ingredients.
How Is Modified Food Starch Used?
Modified starches are typically used as food additives for the same reasons as conventional starches—thickening, stabilizing, or emulsifying. Some of the properties gained by changing the original starch can include the ability to stand different temperatures (excessive heat, freezing, etc.) and an increased shelf life of the desired property (for example, it will keep thickening the sauce for a longer time than its conventional counterpart). It can also alter their ability to act as a thickener, and shorten the thickening time (for example, a modified starch may act as a better thickening agent and thicken sauce much faster than its conventional counterpart).
Modified starches are often used in foods that promote themselves as “instant” and in foods that might need a certain temperature to thicken (during cooking or freezing). Think of gravy packets, instant puddings, and those meals that come in a box and require a minimum amount of cooking or simply need boiling water. These days you can find modified starch in almost every processed food. Check the ingredient list: it’s there.
Common Types of Modified Food Starch
The most common types of modified food starch are made from ingredients like corn, wheat, potato, and tapioca. Typically labels will list the source from which the starch was modified as Modified Corn Starch, however unless it is derived from one of the top eight allergens (in this case wheat), it is not required by law to be listed this way.
Is Modified Food Starch Gluten Free?
Most modified starches are gluten free, except for those that use wheat starch as a base. There is some controversy about whether modified wheat starch really does contain gluten, however. Our opinion? Especially with a gluten free diet, why risk it?
We hope this helps clear up a little label confusion for you. If you have any more label mysteries that you’d like us to solve, tell us in the comments.