Kentucky Derby Pie Cookies (gluten free)

Since nothing says Kentucky like bourbon and horse racing I came up with the idea of Derby Pie Cookies. I mean, butter, chocolate, pecans, bourbon… who can pass that up???

Check out all our United States of Cookies recipes here. Recipe courtesy of Bailey from Simply Sissom.

Share this Recipe
Share this Recipe
Rating
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Votes: 6
Rating: 4
You:
Rate this recipe!
Servings 20 servings
Prep Time 15 minutes
Cook Time 12 minutes
Submitted By Bailey from Simply Sissom
Rating
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Votes: 6
Rating: 4
You:
Rate this recipe!
Servings 20 servings
Prep Time 15 minutes
Cook Time 12 minutes
Submitted By Bailey from Simply Sissom
Share this Recipe
Share this Recipe
Ingredients
Ingredients
Instructions
  1. Heat oven to 350. Microwave butter for about 30 seconds to soften (do not liquify).
  2. Using a stand mixer or electric beaters, beat the butter with the sugars until creamy. Add vanilla, bourbon and egg. Beat on low for about 15 seconds.
  3. Add flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Mix until crumbles form. Use hands to press dough into a ball. Add the chocolate chips and pecans. Use hands to incorporate.
  4. Bake for 10-12 minutes until cookies are puffy and starting to turn golden. Cool on baking rack for 10-15 minutes before serving.
Products Used in this Recipe
Recipe Comments

5 thoughts on “Kentucky Derby Pie Cookies (gluten free)

  1. Susann

    Is the gluten free flour used, the same amount in regular flour? Also can regular sugar be used instead of coconut sugar?

    Reply
    1. recipe specialist

      Hi Susann,
      Our Gluten Free 1-to-1 Baking Flour is meant to replace regular All Purpose or Pastry Flour cup for cup, so you could use the same amount of either one of these types of flour if you did not need your cookies to be gluten free. If you don’t have Coconut Sugar you can use the same amount of cane sugar.

      Reply
    1. recipe specialist

      Hi Ellen,
      Bourbon is made from corn which is a gluten free grain. However, most distilleries may use another grain in the “mash” used to make bourbon, and also may not have dedicated gluten free facilities so there could be cross contact issues, especially if they are producing other spirits like rye whiskey or similar. We would suggest researching the specific bourbon you have to make sure their facilities are gluten free.

      Reply

Recipe Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *